My blog on motorcycles

The Journey

Leave a comment

I was given three days unlimited mileage to test the bike. Coincidentally, Kelantan International Bike Week (KIBW) 2014 was held on 26-27 September 2014.

I planned my route to test capability of the bike as well as riding it for fun. On Saturday, 27 September, I rode all the way to Kota Bharu with an hour rest at Gua Musang.

8.30 am – I stopped at BHP near Gombak Toll. This is regular starting point for bikers heading east. At that time, there was a group of 50 bikers heading to Taman Negara. They passed through me and I got that “Cool Bike Bro…” look from them.

9.00 am-I got the chance to overtake them and wave back J

10.15 am – The fuel gauge showed full bar. However, I must refuel and stopped at Petronas Raub. Filled up half tank before continue with my ride. Outside temperature is around 24⁰C.

10.50 am – Not that far from Raub, I stopped at Benta. The road was manageable with few vehicles. Now, the temperature is 30⁰C. FYI, this is the first time I ride a superbike. Remarkably, I enjoyed the torque and power of this beemer around corner and whilst overtaking cars and lorries. Mid-range power is powerful and smooth. You don’t have to downshift to a lower gear to gain more power to overtake. I did it at sixth gear and easily overtake several cars.

12.30 pm – Phewww. The temperature is 35⁰C in mid-day. This stretch of the road is very demanding with uneven roads, tight corners and overtaking several bigger lorries.

Ride-refuel-ride-hungry-stop-rest-eat. I must stop now for lunch and rest.

I must praise BMW ABS system for both front and rear brakes. They work tirelessly to keep me safe. I had few moments where the ABS stopped the BMW smoothly without losing control of the bike. I heard tyre screeching and all I knew is that ABS done the rest. Quick response from both Brembo brakes help to the complete stop situation.

20140927_110816

Here are some pictures of the ABS installed on BMW.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1.30 pm – Continue my journey towards Kota Bharu. Roads are very challenging and require my full attention. I did not take many photos because need to arrive in KB as early as possible. I need to catch up with my group called Freerider. They arrived a day earlier to attend KIBW 2014.

4.40pm – Welcome to Kota Bharu, Kelantan. A quick selfie with beemer. Overall, 430 km in 6.5 hours with sore butts. Ya, I did it alone. Ride safe. That kind of experience – PRICELESS.

FB_IMG_1411800965275 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: Shamsul

Work as civil servant, administer management of condominium, love bikes and promote public transportation

Leave a Reply

